Avram Davidson Website



A new issue of the Nutmeg Point District Mail (12 December 2021)

Signature of Avram Davidson(1923-1993) was author of nineteen published novels and more than two hundred short stories and essays collected in more than a dozen books, won the Hugo Award in science fiction, the Queen's Award and Edgar Award in the mystery genre, and the World Fantasy Award (three times). His writings defy genre stereotypes and are filled with wit, wonder, and the bizarre. Major works are the novels and stories of Vergil Magus, set in an alternate ancient Rome, including the long-awaited The Scarlet Fig ; the adventures of the learned Dr. Eszterhazy in a mythic southeastern European empire ; and the Jack Limekiller stories set in British Hidalgo. Davidson has been compared to short story writers such as Saki or John Collier or Isaac B. Singer (and many others), but he was truly a unique writer. The Avram Davidson Treasury and The Other Nineteenth Century, published by Tor Books, collect many of his best stories and will reward new readers and long-time fans alike. A new edition of Adventures in Unhistory is available from Tor Books.
The Nutmeg Point District Mail (ISSN 1089-764X)
is a free electronic newsletter devoted to Avram Davidson and his work.
Read the archive of back issues.  To subscribe, send your name and electronym to: wessells@aol.com

The Avram Davidson Website << www.avramdavidson.org >> is designed by :

and compiled by :

Henry Wessells

Temporary Culture
Post Office Box 43072
Upper Montclair, NJ 07043-0072

First version, September 1995. Updated regularly, offered freely.
Website sponsored by the Avram Davidson Society & hosted via panix.

Copyright 1995-2017 by Henry Wessells. All rights reserved.